DeMuro Award for Excellence in Preservation, Reuse, and Community Revitalization

Celebrating a passion for preservation and community

Since 2011, the DeMuro Awards have promoted historic preservation and reuse in Oregon by spotlighting and celebrating outstanding rehabilitation projects. The award honors the legacy of our friend and Board member, Art DeMuro, whose career embodied vision, persistence, creativity, excellence, and sound economics.

Art DeMuro played a vital role in many important historic properties in Portland, including the Minnesota Hotel, Telegram Building, Northwest Fence & Wire Works, Ladd Carriage House, Mason Ehrman Building (PDC headquarters), Fire Station No. 7, and the White Stag Block. He considered the White Stag Block, the Portland home of the University of Oregon, to be his crowning achievement in historic preservation.

In addition to historic properties, Art was also known for community-enhancing new construction and adaptive reuse projects like the Porter Glisan Building in the Pearl District, and the Mill Pond Village housing development in Astoria. Art placed high importance on giving back to the community by donating time and money to organizations focusing on historic preservation and organizations working to improve livability in Oregon.

When he died in 2012, Restore Oregon created the DeMuro Award program to ensure that his passion for preservation and community lives on.

The purpose of the DeMuro award is to:

  • Inspire more historic preservation in Oregon
  • Recognize significant leaders in the field
  • Promote excellence in the practice of historic preservation
  • Build partnerships between Oregon preservation professionals and advocacy communities

DeMuro Award in the media and beyond

DeMuro Award recipients are publicly honored at the annual Restoration Celebration, receive media coverage, exclusive acknowledgment on the Restore Oregon website, and case studies published in our quarterly preservation magazine, FieldNotes.

The DeMuro Award nomination process is closed for 2023.

For questions regarding the award nomination, please contact Lori Madsen, Events and Program Associate at